top of page
Pick Me Up Theatre: Disenchanted!


John Cooper Studio Theatre, 41 Monkgate,  York

Poisoned apples. Glass slippers. Who needs ‘em?! Not Snow White and her posse of disenchanted princesses in the hilarious hit musical that's anything but Grimm. Forget the Disney princesses you think you know.


After multiple sold-out runs in America, these royal renegades toss off their tiaras to bring their hilariously subversive, not-for-the-kiddies musical from New York City to Old York City for its UK premiere – fairy tales will never be the same!


Disenchanted! was nominated for a 2015 Outer Critics Circle Award for Outstanding Off-Broadway Musical and a 2015 Off-Broadway Alliance Award for Best New Musical.

Director Robert Readman has assembled a cracking cast to play the sassy princesses who have a bone to pick with the way they've been portayed.

Katie Melia (last seen with Pick Me Up as Alice in The Addams Family) is Snow White, Alexa Chaplin (Lynette 'Squeaky' Fromme in Assassins) is Cinderella, Victoria Lightfoot (Princess Elizabeth in

Betty Blue Eyes) is Sleeping Beauty, and Hayley Bamford (Morticia in The Addams Family and Mary Lou Sokolov in Buddy) is Pocahontas and Rapunzel.


Jess Gardham (Marlena Madison in Buddy) plays the Princess who kissed the Frog, Maren Fagerås Nævdal (Johanna in Sweeney Todd and Fantine in Les Miserables) is the Little Mermaid, Maya Bartley O'Dea (Madame Thenardier in Les Miserables and Rachel Crabbe in One Man, Two Guvnors) is Mulan, Maya Tether (Dolly in One Man, Two Guvnors) is the Princess Who Kissed a Frog, and Elanor Dunn (Betty's creator in Betty Blue Eyes) plays Belle.

23 Sept - 1 Oct 2016


Book, music and lyrics by

Dennis T. Giacino

Directed by

Robert Readman

Musical Director

Barbara Chan


Stefani Lyons, Jacqueline Scott


Adam Moore


Ian Thomson

Hair and Make-Up

Emma Godivala

Prop Designer

Elanor Dunn



Snow White

Katie Melia


Alexa Chaplin

Sleeping Beauty

Victoria Lightfoot


Hayley Bamford

Little Mermaid

Maren Fagerås Nævdal


Maya Bartley O'Dea

Princess Who Kissed The Frog

Maya Tether


Elanor Dunn


Barbara Chan


Sam Johnson


Rhys Evans


Georgia Johnson


Austin Clavane

bottom of page